Who's Playing Today
Who's Playing Tomorrow
Active Groups
Active Venues
Who's Playing
Special Events | Profiles | Groups | Venues
New Releases | News | What's On | Feedback
Free Newsletter
ECMA 2020 Announce Special Awards
By John Gavin, Tuesday, July 7, 2020


ASECMALogo2002.jpgECMA unveils 2020 Honorary Award recipients and details of Pre-Awards Show presented by TD

...Ron Hynes inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Ahead of three events this weekend celebrating the winners of the 2020 East Coast Music Awards, the East Coast Music Association (ECMA) is very pleased to unveil the first wave of recipients of the 2020 Honorary East Coast Music Awards.

Presented by the organization’s Board of Directors, the majority of these Honorary Awards will be handed out during the 2020 ECMA Pre-Awards Show presented by TD taking place on Facebook and YouTube this Friday, July 10 at 3 p.m. AT / 3:30 p.m. NT. The Pre-Awards Show celebrates the winners of the East Coast Music Awards and Industry Awards that are not featured on the two-hour 2020 East Coast Music Awards presented by TD televised special airing the following night, Saturday, July 11 at 9 p.m. AT / 9:30 NT, on CBC TV in Atlantic Canada and on CBC Gem across the country. The show will also be available on demand on CBC Gem following the broadcast.

One Honorary Award, the Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award, will be presented as part of Saturday evening's broadcast. The televised special also features a special tribute to the legendary Ron Hynes in celebration of his induction into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame with support from the SOCAN Foundation & Peer Music. The tribute brings together longtime members of his backing band and acclaimed artists such as Shaye, Joel Hynes, and Lennie Gallant.

Five other Honorary Awards - the Stompin’ Tom Awards - will be handed out live on CBC’s Weekend Mornings and CBC’s Weekend AM radio shows this Saturday, July 11.

The recipients of the 2020 Honorary East Coast Music Awards are as follows:

Directors’ Special Achievement Award:

Measha Brueggergosman: Measha began her career committed to the art of the song recital, and has presented innovative programs at Carnegie Hall, Washington’s Kennedy Center, and throughout the UK and Europe. Her first recording for Deutsche Grammophon, Surprise, is one of the most highly regarded debut albums of recent years, while her recording of the Wesendonck Lieder earned her a Grammy nomination. Off the stage, Measha is just as active: 2017 saw the release of her memoir (published by HarperCollins); she appears regularly on primetime TV (most recently advocating on behalf of contemporary Canadian literature); and leading children across the country in song, in a nationwide campaign for music education.

Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award:

Shanneyganock: Shanneyganock are a Newfoundland phenomenon. The group has released 13 recordings with sales in excess of 100,000 copies, and their music has been featured on hundreds of compilation recordings. They’ve been recognized with numerous ECMA and Music NL awards and nominations, headlined at major festivals, and toured across Canada, the United States, Europe, the Middle East, and even the North Pole, all while promoting and preserving the music and songs of Newfoundland and Labrador. It was Shanneyganock’s music that served as the inspiration for the Tony-nominated score Come From Away, and the Shanneyganock songbook is a genuine reflection of the rich musical culture and history of Newfoundland.

Industry Builder Award:

Tony Murray: With over twenty years in the music industry, Tony Murray is a foundational figure in Newfoundland and Labrador, producing shows for CBC television, for the ECMA, MusicNL and NLAC Awards, and for local venues like The Ship Pub and The Rock House. Murray began his foray into the world of music in the 1980s when acts like Tina Turner, Corey Hart, and Supertramp were rolling into town to play shows at the old Memorial Stadium. For him, each show, whether big or small, is extremely important. Tony has won many awards and has produced numerous award shows, but it is working with the artists that gives him the most satisfaction.

Musician’s Achievement Award:

Kelly Russell: A professional musician since 1975, Kelly Russell has been a member of landmark groups Figgy Duff, The Wonderful Grand Band, The Plankerdown Band, Bristol’s Hope, The Irish Descendants, The Punters, and Kelly Russell & The Planks. One of Newfoundland and Labrador’s leading traditional music promoters and performers, his Pigeon Inlet Productions label released over 30 LPs and CDs from 1979 to 1997. He has been recognized with The Marius Barbeau Award for his significant contribution to Canadian folklore, designated as the Province’s first Tradition Bearer, awarded The Queens Diamond Jubilee Medal, and named to The Order of Canada.